Joseph Hasper
Joseph Hasper


  • 27 Aug 2018, News
  • Orchestra Piece Being Recorded
  • I just found out my orchestra piece "In The Air" is being recorded by the NEO Sound orchestra in October! This is the final movement of the symphony I wrote for my doctoral dissertation at the University of Oklahoma, and this is the first performance of the piece.It's humbling, frustrating, puzzling, and astonishing to follow the trajectory of a composition. This one was composed six years ago, and leaves the first three movements still looking for a premiere performance. My teacher Marvin Lamb used to ...
  • 21 Apr 2017, News
  • Spring Composition Classes Come To An End
  • On Thursday, April 13, seven of my composition students at Kutztown University gave a recital of their works--and it was a fantastic experience for them. Students were responsible for not only composing finished works worthy of public performance, but also finding performers for their own pieces, preparing parts for each instruments, rehearsing the ensemble, and conducting the performance (if required). Without exception each student did a masterful job with each phase of the project, and I'm really ...
  • 15 Jan 2017, News
  • Viola Solo Premieres in Bucharest
  • I just found out my solo viola piece, First Quandary, is being played by Cornelia Petroiu on February 26! Composer's Voice presents the World Premiere of PUZZLE-GARDE - Cornelia Petroiu, viola. Cornelia Petroiu in cooperation with Vox Novus, the voice in contemporary music, published a call-for-scores calling for pieces composed on the theme “PUZZLE-GARDE.” Cornelia Petroiu selected 16 works, composed specifically for this daring new-music project. The selected works are: Tractate – ...
  • 25 Okt 2016, News
  • New Jazz Combo Charts To Warm Up The Winter
  • Two brand new jazz combo charts were added to my MusicaNeo catalog today! The funk groove Three Hundred Thousand Degrees can now be viewed in two different lineups, one for combo with three horns (trumpet, sax, trombone) and one for combo with two horns (trumpet and sax). The sax part is scored for tenor sax but includes an alto sax substitute, so you can use either horn without sacrificing a thing. The rhythm section calls for guitar, piano, bass, and drums. (On the recording I only went ...
  • 21 Okt 2015, News
  • Patriotic and Americana Songs Added
  • Three arrangements for my friends in Illinois, "The Sound Hounds", are ready on MusicaNeo: America The Beautiful - for solo voice and combo in a straight-ahead legit version. Scored for vocals, alto, tenor, bari, trumpet, trombone, and full rhythm section. Armed Forces Salute - an instrumental medley of Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, and Coast Guard songs. Straight-ahead legit arrangement for alto, tenor, bari, trumpet, trombone, and full rhythm section. Kathleen Mavourneen - vocal solo with ...
  • 10 Okt 2015, News
  • New Tunes For Fall!
  • With winter approaching I finished a few new songs for MusicaNeo: Winter Suite (brass quintet). Brilliant brass showcase in five movements that are perfect for fall and winter: 1. Quick and Light / 2. Dark Reflection / 3. Majestic / 4. Drifting Snow / 5. Of Two Minds. The Kings They Came (SATB, a cappella). A short (3'00") wintry theme with text based on a poem by Sara Teasdale. In the Fishery of Souls (SATB and organ). Thoughtful, poignant text based on a poem by Stella Davis ...
  • 17 Mai 2015, News
  • A Vocal Spring
  • Pleased and relieved to have finished a trio of vocal tunes this spring: When Icicles Hang By The Wall (SATB with piano). I began work on this piece five years ago, and finally got all the "wish I would have done that" parts in good shape. Text based on a poem by William Shakespeare. Twenty-Four Hallelujahs (SATB with piano). The entire text: Hallelujah. If I Can Stop One Heart (SATB with piano). With text from Emily Dickinson from the poem of the same name. For the first time I was able to ...
  • 25 Feb 2015, News
  • New Piano Solo Available
  • This charming piano solo emerged as I was working on a completely different piece for orchestra. I was working on a tranquil, hypnotic setting and also thinking of Erik Satie's "Vexations" and the passage struck me as entirely lovely for solo piano. The tempo is moderate, 60 bmp, with no durations shorter than an eighth note. Total duration: 3'50". Check it out!
  • 01 Feb 2015, News
  • New Music and New Projects
  • This winter has turned out to be a busy, productive season for me. My new brass octet, "Winter Suite," is now done (and available for download!). "Winter Suite" is a four movement piece for 3 trumpets, F horn, 3 trombones, and tuba. The total duration is just over 9 minutes, and it's level is medium-difficult (grade 4). And. . . I've been named to organize and lead a choir for Easter Sunday services, so besides recruiting and rehearsing, I'll be busy arranging vocal parts and ...
  • 29 Sep 2014, News
  • New Jazz Ensemble Arrangements
  • I just finished a series of jazz ensemble arrangements for singer Jackson Lindley, who will be performing these with the Coachella Valley High School Jazz Ensemble. The tunes are all over the board: Haven't Me You Yet and Home (Michael Buble), Move (MercyMe), and Sway (Dean Martin) -- quite an ambitious project for Jackson! Stay tuned for progress on the rehearsals and a YouTube link.
Seiten: 1 von 4